Sunday, August 7, 2011

Rare serious question: Did i do the right thing?

so last night i was at the bar with a bunch of friends and regular bar patrons... there's one guy who we all associate with who's basically a sexist who likes to think of himself as a womanizer, from here on out i'll refer to him as Douche... i've talked with a handful of women who all have a negative opinion of him... being that i'm male, he's not like that towards me, but i'm aware of this side of his personality... so the bar closes and a bunch of us go a few blocks to finish the night off at a guy's apartment who's friends with Douche... the entire walk he's blatantly flirting with this woman (that i'll call Unknown) who nobody knows and doing all he can to convince her to come over to his friends apartment... at one point she mentions that she doesn't know anybody, so i introduce myself and start asking the basic questions one would in attempt to get to know another... when we all get to the apartment building she says she needs to get food first and a couple people agree... Douche and the others go up to the apartment and myself, Unknown, a male friend and a female friend head off to get a quick snack... at this point it's about 3am... on the way back, we're walking and talking and i sense an unease from Unknown... i quickly sidle up to her and say "this is probably your only chance to get away from a bunch of people you don't know"... she says "i kinda want to leave, but don't know how to say it"... i say "you don't need to say it... just say goodbye to us now and walk home... i'll take care of the rest"... she stops in her tracks, says "sorry everybody, i have to go home, nice meeting you all" and walks off... the one male friend that was with us asks me what i said to her and i told him the truth, this friend is actually a good guy... he suggests that when Douche finds out what i did, he'll be pissed at me... i tell my friend that Douche isn't going to find out because nobody's gonna tell him what i said to Unknown and when Douche inquires about the situation i'll do all the talking... needless to say, when we got up to the apartment, Douche was annoyed that we let Unknown leave and suggests that we should've convinced her to come up... later when talking with my friend, he said that Unknown might've felt pressured to leave the group from what i said to her... i did it because i didn't want her to have to endure Douche's sexual desire, but now i'm thinking that maybe she took what i said as "go away, we don't like you"... that and i totally got in somebody else's business and tried to steer the course of events away from what i thought could eventually turn into a negative experience for Unknown... did i do the right thing?..

No comments:

Post a Comment